Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi – Review

DSC_0189

Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi sits along the white sandy beaches of the famous Cenang beach in Langkawi, Malaysia.

DSC_0187
Resort surrounded by lush tropical gardens

This is my fifth time in Langkawi. Tanjung Rhu Resort has always been my first choice when visiting Langkawi but the resort was fully booked. As a Starwood Preferred Guest, I’ve tried staying in Andaman and Westin in Langkawi before and did try my luck in booking myself a room there but they were both fully booked as well.

I did a bit of researching and was left with very limited options. Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa seemed to be pretty decent for its location and I did read about the resort being refurbished not long ago. I booked myself into a Pool Terrace Room and paid about RM1000 nett per night. Overall the resort was okay, but for the price paid, I would expect standards of above average.

DSC_0169
“Open-concept” lobby portraying strong vibe of a traditional Malay house.
DSC_0202
Double bed in the Pool Terrace Room.
DSC_0217
Mini bar in the room.
DSC_0229
Small ensuite seating corner in the room
DSC_0219
Bathroom – Interesting wood lining and lighting pieces.
DSC_0221
Separate bathtub and standing shower
DSC_0248
Complimentary fruit basket upon arrival.
DSC_0253
Fresh flower petals as decorative pieces in the room

DSC_0265

I’ve read some mixed reviews on the internet and was actually contemplating when booking the resort. I decided to give the resort a try having in mind that the resort’s website stated that it had gone through an extensive, multi million dollar refurbishment programme, and that it is a 5-star resort. Upon stepping into the hotel’s lobby, I was greeted by Azian, the front desk manager. She was the only one in the lobby that actually gave service of a 5-star hotel standard. The rest of the reception team although appeared friendly, seemed to be lack of experience when it comes to providing a personalised customer service. Azian was the superstar of the whole front desk team, informing me that one of the key cards had already been placed in the room, with the air-conditioning switched on before hand. I did complain to her about the super warm/hot weather in Langkawi and I assume that she did take in my statement and did something about it.

The hotel grounds seemed to be a bit outdated and old but I could tell that the room has gone through refurbishment. I was quite satisfied with the room condition and just when I wanted to rest, I realised that water was dripping and leaking out from the air-conditioning unit.

DSC_0266

I had to make at least 3 phone calls to the reception and waited for around 20 minutes for the foreman to show up in my room. I soon realised that the hotel’s service is not of a 5-star hotel’s standard. I remember asking for a buggy service once to pick me up from my room through the phone and the receptionist said that she has “no idea” how long it would take.

I walked around the resort later that day and did some photo-shooting. The resort ground was huge, covering around 35 acres landscaped beachfront.

DSC_0307
Hotel grounds
DSC_0310
The main pool
DSC_0312
Resort’s main pool
DSC_0318
The famous Cenang Beach in front of the resort
DSC_0321
Hotel grounds
DSC_0327
Hotel grounds
DSC_0355
Pool Bar
DSC_0389
Resort’s “Cascade Pool”

I woke up around 8 the next morning and had my breakfast in the resort’s main restaurant – Spice Market Cafe. The selection was extensive but the restaurant was packed with people. I spent 15 minutes making myself a cup of cappuccino (There were only two espresso machines in the cafe, I had to queue and one of the machines decided to break down) Service wise, the restaurant was in chaos, with too many people dining in at the same time and too little staffs to cater the crowd.

DSC_0268
Chinese New Year’s decorations
DSC_0272
Selection of cereals
DSC_0274
Fresh juices and milk
DSC_0303
Bread and pastried
DSC_0305
Noodle station

DSC_0270

All in all, I do not think that this is a luxury 5-star resort. I’ve stayed in Andaman, Westin and Tanjung Rhu in Langkawi before and I would say that they are of “true” 5 or even 6 stars standard. Even though the hotel’s official site stated that they have gone through extensive refurbishments, the gaps between the wooden planks on the room’s floor were too big, allowing insects and bugs to be in the room. There was even millipedes crawling in the bed during one of the nights of my stay. I will be sharing my experience of the resort’s spa (Pelangi Spa) in the following post.

Omelette&Latte’s ratings:

  • Parking: 9/10
  • Value: 6/10
  • Location: 9/10
  • Cleanliness and sleep quality: 8/10
  • Service: 5/10
  • Wifi: Yes (throughout the resort)

For more information, please visit Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi’s official site.

Pantai Cenang, 07000 Langkawi Malaysia
04-9528888
pelangi@meritushotels.com

Leave a Reply

